

2 Thout 1740 AM | 13 September 2023

Coptic New Year (Nayrouz) Celebration at NSW Parliament House

Through the grace of God, the Diocese of Sydney & Affiliated Regions celebrated Coptic New Year 1740 AM at NSW Parliament House, in partnership with the NSW Parliamentary Friends of Egypt.

A wonderful event and memorable celebration filled with joy, appreciation and contemplation alongside HG Bishop Daniel of the Diocese of Sydney, HG Bishop Daniel of St Shenouda Monastery, Putty, HG Bishop Bartholomew of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of Australia, Fr Joshua Tadros, Papal Legate and Chairperson of the Sydney Diocesan Board of Trustees, and HE Mr Mohamed Khalil, Consul-General of Egypt in Sydney.

It was an honour to have with us, The Hon. Stephen Kamper, MP, Minister for Sport and Multiculturalism, representing The Hon. Chris Minns, MP, Premier of NSW; The Hon. Mark Speakman, Leader of the Opposition, NSW; Mr Edmond Atalla, MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Police and Counter-terrorism, and Co-Founder of the NSW Parliamentary Friends of Egypt and Cr Paul Sedrak, Member for Bayside Council.

We were also immensely grateful to have over 25 parliamentarians and numerous mayors, councillors and community leaders celebrating with us.

Extending our thanks, we also acknowledge the attendance of the following Members of Parliament (MPs):

- The Hon. Michael Daley, MP, Attorney General of NSW
- The Hon. Ron Hoenig, MP, Minister for Local Government
- The Hon. Sophie Cotsis, MP, Minister for Industrial Relations
- The Hon. Jihad Dib, MP, Minister for Customer Service/Digital Gov.
- Dr Hugh McDermott, MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney General and Chair of the NSW Parliamentary Friends of Egypt
- Mr Mark Coure, MP, Shadow Minister for Multiculturalism, Co-Founder of the NSW Parliamentary Friends of Egypt
- Ms Eleni Petinos, MP, Shadow Minister for Finance and Sport
- Ms Kellie Sloane, MP, Shadow Minister for Environment
- Mr Warren Kirby, MP, Member for Riverstone
- Mr Jordan Lane, MP, Member for Ryde
- Ms Charishma Kaliyanda, MP, Member for Liverpool

Level 3, 91 George St, Parramatta NSW 2150 | PO Box W7 Westfield Parramatta NSW 2150 +61 2 9635 3988 | www.coptic.org.au | Facebook: @CopticOrthodoxDioceseOfSydney Instagram: @sydneycopts

- Mr Tim James, MP, Member for Willoughby
- Mr Michael Regan, MP, Member for Wakehurst
- Mr Matt Cross, MP, Member for Davidson
- Mrs Tina Ayyad, MP, Member for Holsworthy
- Ms Stephanie Di Pasqua, MP, Member for Drummoyne

We also thank the following Members of the NSW Legislative Council (MLCs) for their attendance:

- The Hon. Damien Tudehope, MLC, Shadow Treasurer
- The Hon. Scott Farlow, MLC, Shadow Minister for Planning
- The Hon. Mark Buttigieg, MLC, Secretary for Multiculturalism
- The Hon. Chris Rath, MLC, Opposition Whip
- The Hon. Rachel Merton, MLC
- The Hon. Shaoquett Moselmane, former MLC

Thank you to the following Mayors for being with us to celebrate the new year:

- Mayor Cr Nick Katris, Georges River Council
- Mayor Dr Christina Curry, Bayside Council
- Mayor Cr Karen Pensabene, Strathfield Council

We also thank Mr Joseph La Posta, CEO of Multicultural NSW and NSW Police Detective Superintendent Paul Dunstan, our clergy, Board of Trustees and Education Board, Coptic Colleges, various committees and organisations, and beloved community members for joining us to commemorate this momentous night celebrating Nayrouz 1740 AM.

Wishing you all a happy and blessed Coptic New Year - Feast of Nayrouz.

In Christ,

Media Committee

Coptic Orthodox Diocese of Sydney & Affiliated Regions